C1. Eternal adventurer of E-rank ①

My head hurts like someone is waving a hammer inside my head
“Urghh, my head hurts”
It was the worst way to wake up. It was because I drank too much sake, yesterday.
I would like to lay down on the bed of the inn all day long, but unfortunately my purse was light enough to be blown away in the wind. If I do not earn today’s fee, I’ll be sleeping outside in this cold. Besides, I can not skip my daily routine.

I lightly tapped my cheek and put on a spirited face, dressed, and left the room with my much loved sword, which had been standing against the wall at the end.
The “Golden Rooster ” which I used for lodging for some time, while here with the first floor as the dining room and guest rooms in the second floor. At night, adventurers will be coming up, in groups to heal the fatigue of the day. [EDN: To those from the UK, or any country which counts floor the same way as the UK, when it says first floor and second floor in means ground floor and first floor.]
The Golden Rooster was popular with the adventurers of this Capital La’Chel though it was not a full-fledged tavern. The food is delicious, but it existence is more than just that.
“Ah, Rai-san. Good morning”
The one who greeted me as I descended to the first floor was the attractive Rorona-chan with bright smile.
Her age is 16 years old. The flaxen hair is tied up at the back of her head, to keep it out of the food she is carrying, while blurring the sweat on her forehead. Healthy thighs extending from short skirts were dazzling in the morning from hangover.

“Good morning, Rorona, I’m sorry, can I have a glass of water?”
“Okay, how about a white stew with plenty of vegetables together? It has a reputation as a cure for a hangover.”
“Ah ~”

As expected of the poster girl of the ‘Golden Rooster’ . She knew that I had a hangover.

“It is very delightful offer, but I am going to stop today, I have no money unless I receive a request.”
“Even so, Rai-san, you did get a request yesterday right? Other adventurers said that they can live if you receive a request about once every three days”
“Well, that’s for an adventurer over C rank”.

Even the same adventurer has a rank. The top ranks from S rank to down to E rank. The higher the rank, the higher the reward will be for the request to be received. If there are only a handful of adventurers who are A ranks, they have a higher salary than the average member of the Kingdom Knights which is admiration of boys and girls.
However, there is a lower if there is an upper. It is not possible to surpass the day if if you do not make complete request desperately every day.
“I’m the eternal adventurer of E-rank. I have to work hard. ”
I only got the water from Rorona-chan, and I left ‘ golden Rooster ‘ to do the daily routine.

◇◆◇

After doing my daily routine, I went to the Adventurer’s Guild, that is full of the adventurers.
Although it was still early in the morning, the inside of the guild was full of adventurers seeking better requests. A lot of adventurers were packed in front of the lower level quest boards which can be accepted even by adventurers under D rank, especially, there was competition occurring every time a new quest was posted.
I don’t like it. I definitely don’t want to participate in that.
Though the headache has improved considerably, but it is still hard to cope.
“It can’t be helped. Do I get a hunting quest today? ”
I went directly to the reception counter with the Guild staff.
Choosing from among the three windows is, of course, a counter with a familiar receptionist.

“Yo, Rika-san, please take care of me again today”
“Good morning, Rai, are you taking a quest as usual today?”

Rika, who has been a guild employee as long as I have been an adventurer, is looking at me with strange cold eyes.
The long silver hair and the eyes of the cuts are dignified beauties, but she is a poor woman who is often avoided by newcomers because it is a kind of gaze that always looks likes she is looking for an opponent. So even though she was over twenty, she didn’t have boyfriend…

“Rai-san. Do you think something strange?”
“Nope, nothing”

Sharp! Scary!

“… Well, your request is fine, please wait a bit.”

Rika takes out a piece of paper from a nearby shelf, and fills out the content of the quest with a pen
What she’s making now is individual quest, unlike quests on the Quest board-in other words, there is a no client, and unlike quests where you can get a reward in response to the fulfilment of a request, the Guild buys the monster’s material and it is an unspecified hunting quest that sums up the amount of money per day based on the materials you get.
There are few people who receive this unspecified hunting quest.
The adventurer certainly hunts monsters. But whether it is a goal of the quest, or because it was disturbed in the process, the original purpose is to complete the quest and obtain the reward. The materials gained from killing the monster is only an additional supplement to the end.
Of course, some of the materials are bought at a high price. However, because a reward doesn’t come with that, it still was a common recognition of the adventurer that the effort was not worth it for the hardship. If you do not achieve the individual quests and can not rise to the top rank, the reason is also it is dangerous because there is a possibility that enemies who are not purely set as targets may not turn up or other enemies that do not match your level may appear.
They are called adventurers, but in fact they do not adventure to that extent.
If you consider your status and quest difficulty, and the level of the monster, you can secure the minimum. It’s dangerous, but if you don’t do it, it’s not going to kill you.
That is the occupation of an adventurer.

“…… Except for me.”
“Did you say something, Rai-san?”
“Nothing. I wanted to get a regular request once in a while. ”

Rika pointed to a lower level quest board silently.

“Sorry. I don’t have the guts to wade through that crowd alone”
“If you build a party, the danger level will drop dramatically just by that.”
“Hey, Rika-san … Are there people who want party with the adventurer who ranks E for five years like me?”

Adventurers start with E rank and can be promoted to D rank at the latest at one year. It may not be surprising that you have gone up to C rank if you have three years. Although it depends on talent beyond that, it will not be surprising even if it fulfills the ranks of B ranked promoters even if it is five years history of adventurers.
Conversely, it is surprising that E rank is also five years.
“Pu~”
So, even if the young adventurers who were lined behind unintentionally blew out, it would be no use right.

“Are you still ranked E for five years? What level do I need to promote to D-rank, is it just ten levels?”
“Yes, I can not go up to D rank without 10 levels and 20 requests completed.”
“Yes. Request fulfillment 20 is troublesome, but ten levels is too easy. When you become an adventurer, you usually have enough levels for it. ”

In the words of a leader boy, the other three showed me his status screen. From the right, 13, 14 and 14 levels. Moreover, the last guy has a swordsman skill. Damn, I envy you. I wish I could suddenly be shaken by the wayside by a woman who doesn’t know.

“By the way, I’m level 14, you, What’s your level now?”
“Well, I have to tell you, you have no obligation, do you?”
“Well, that’s not it, we showed you the status of us.”
“What are you saying when you show me selfishly?”
“Okay, show me the status, I will not laugh at all”

This boy, who is already grinning, was worried about what he would look like when he actually saw my status, but after that I decided to ignore it because it was troublesome.

“What is it? You’re stingy. That’s why you can’t go to level ten. ”
“Wrong. It’s because I don’t have money”
I do not refute it, I look forward.
“…………”
Rika was staring at me with the face which seemed to be terrible.

“I’m sorry”
“Why did Rai-san apologize, did you do something wrong?”
“No, your eyes.”
“I was born like this, what about it?”
“I am terribly sorry.”

Now this time when I lower my head seriously, Rika sighed and then handed me the quest paper that I had finished writing.
At that time, she gently whispered in my ear.
“I am sorry, even though there is a reason why Rai is still E-rank.”
Seriously, I wonder why such a good person can’t find a boyfriend.
“Don’t mind it. I’m the one who feels bad with you all the care you’ve given me.”
“No, this is my job”

Rika shook her head and sent me off with her usual words with a slight smile on her face.

“See you. Please take care.”
“Ok, I’m going.”

I raised my hand slightly and I left for the quest.
“Hey, why?!”
It seemed like the people lining up behind me screamed from Rika’s cool response but since it was just as usual I left the guild without worrying about it.
==============================
TLN : Maybe next week i will update 2 chapters or 1 chapter for this Friday
EDN: Sorry about delay between the prologue and this chapter, I was having technical issues

Prologue

Sir, I can’t actually read my Status

C2. Eternal adventurer of E-rank ②

4 comments

  1. Pretty sure there’s someone calling Rika “onee-san” somewhere. xD Got to like characters like her. ^_^

    Thanks for the hard work.

    Like

Leave a comment